Mongolia Briefing


Political System

The Mongolian government is organized in a unicameral parliament, the Ikh Khural. The highest executive power is the prime minister, with a president who acts as military commander in chief and representative head of state. The Ikh Khural consists of 76 seats distributed by majority vote.

The government can be dissolved by the prime minister or if half of the cabinet ministers resign. The Ikh Khural can be dissolved by the president or by a two-third majority in a parliament vote.

The two largest parties in Mongolia are the Mongolian People’s Party (formerly MPRP) and the Democratic Party.



Back to Top


Lost your password?